Edinburgh's Radical Bookshop
Basket
Cover for: A Memory Called Empire : Winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel

A Memory Called Empire : Winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel

Martine, Arkady More by this author...£8.99

In a war of lies she seeks the truth.

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next. Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.

As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series,

A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.

More great books